When a player downloads and opens the GooseChase app for the first time, they will be presented with options to Play as Guest, Play with New Account, or Log in to an existing account.

Playing with an Account

Playing with an account, either by signing up with an email address or with Facebook, allows a player to tie all their game activity to that account. Once an account is created, a player can even sign in from another device to access all their game data.

Playing as Guest

The Play as Guest option allows users to play without the need to create a GooseChase account. When players select this option, they will be taken directly to the Join a Game window and prompted to find their game by name or game code in order to find and join a game as usual. This is the fastest way for players to join a game and get started. Note that after a player joins their game, they will still need to select or create a new team or player profile for that game, as this is a different step than signing in to the GooseChase App.

When a player chooses the Play as Guest option, their game activity is only saved to their mobile device, and will not be saved to an online account, This game activity will be deleted if they uninstall the GooseChase app from their device or reset the app from the settings menu. The team or player profiles for individual games will still be present, with that player or team's score, mission submissions, and leaderboard standings still visible to other players and accessible the organizer Game Manager.

Re-joining a Game to Play as Guest

If for any reason a player does need to re-join a game they had been participating in using Play as Guest, such as if they accidentally delete the GooseChase app from their mobile device, or need to switch to another device, they can do so by re-joining the game (either by joining as guest again or with a new account) and selecting the same team/player profile they were using. If the player profile is secured with an access code, they might need to ask for it from the game organizer. Organizers can find this information from the Participants Tab in the Game Manager.

Individual player profiles created by players themselves when they join a game will be secured with a 4-digit access code by default.

Screen_Shot_2020-02-06_at_2.02.55_PM.png

Creating a New Account with current Guest Account Activity

A player who utilized Play as Guest has the option of later creating a new account, saving all of the game activity from their guest account. This is useful for if a player changes their mind and later decides they want to have their game states and progress saved online, or if they decide they want to log in from another mobile device without having to contact the game organizer for their team/player profile's access code.

This can be done by selecting the option in the app's settings menu. The player will be prompted to create a new account, either with an email address or through Facebook, and the new account will be created with all previous and in-progress games states intact.

Screenshot_20200206-140517.png
Did this answer your question?