To manage the participants in your Experience, head over to the Participants tab in the Experience Manager!

image of participants tab

Teams vs Solo

When setting up your Experience, you have the option to select Team mode or Solo mode.

Teams: Playing in Teams Mode is a great option for encouraging teamwork and creating a bit of friendly competition! In Teams Mode, multiple mobile devices can join the Experience together under one team profile. All participants on a team work together to complete the same mission list. When a participants completes a mission, that mission is marked complete for their whole team. Since only one person from each team can complete any individual mission, all teams have a fair chance to win - even if they contain a different numbers of participants.

While there isn't a limit on the number of users that can join a team, we usually recommend teams of 3 - 5 participants, to keep everyone engaged during the entire Experience. The activity feed and leaderboard will display submissions and rankings for each team, which means there is no way to view individual participants' effort using teams mode

Solo: Playing as individual participants is great if you want to see each participant's unique submissions. When playing as individuals, each person is able to submit their own submission for all of the missions in the Experience. This allows each participant to be able to earn their own points and show their work. Individuals will all play with their own usernames and profile photos which will be displayed in the activity feed and leaderboard.

Solo Mode can still be used for a team Experience, as long as all team members will be together during the duration of the event and will only be submitting mission submissions from one mobile device.

Setting up a Team Experience

Creating Teams

You have the option to either allow participants to create their own teams, or you can create them in advance. By default, Experiences are set to allow participants to create their own teams. In this case, participants will be prompted to enter a team name, and an optional photo and passcode when they enter the Experience.

However, in some cases, pre-creating teams before your Experience is a great way to make it quicker for participants to join. This allows participants to simply select their team. You can pre-create teams by clicking on the blue create button. In team mode, you will then add a team name and optional team photo and passcode.

If you choose to pre-create the teams, and don’t want participants to be able to create their own teams, uncheck the "Allow participants to create their own teams" option at the bottom of the Participants tab.

image of participants full participants page


Passcodes

An passcode is like a password for a team. This ensures that participants are only able to join team they are supposed to be a part of. As a creator, you may want to add team passcodes to control which participants join specific teams. You will need to send participants their team passcode before they can join their team. For more information on passcodes and how they can secure your Experience click here.

Editing Teams

If you’ve pre-created teams, you have the option to edit them at any point throughout your event. Just like in the Missions tab, hover your mouse over the team you’d like to edit, and select the edit button that appears. From there, you’ll have the option to change the name, picture, or passcode associated with that team.

However, if you let participants create their own teams, you won’t have the option to edit any of the information associated with those teams. Only the participants on that team will be able to edit the team details through the mobile app.

Setting up a solo Experience

Creating participants profiles

Similar to the setup for team mode, in solo mode you have the option to either allow participants to create their own participant profiles, or you can create them in advance. By default, participants will be prompted to create their own participant profiles when joining the Experience. You can control this with the Allow participants to create their own profiles checkbox. If you prefer to create profiles in advance, click the create button and enter the name of the participant and an optional profile photo and passcode code.

image of create team pop up

You can add an optional passcode, which participants will need to receive from you in order to join their participant profile. For more information on passcodes and how they can better secure your Experience click here. You'll be able to edit participants' profiles that you have created by hovering over the profile and clicking edit. You will not be able to edit profiles created by the participants.

Joining the Experience

Your participants will join your Experience by downloading the GooseChase mobile app from the App Store/Play Store to their iOS or Android device. They can follow the steps in this guide if they need additional help.

Once they open the app, they will be prompted to either create a GooseChase account or to continue playing as a guest. Then, they will use the magnifying glass icon to search for your event by name or join code. From there, they will be prompted to create their team or profile, or join one that you've pre-created, depending on how you set up your Experience!

Inviting Participants (Optional)

To help get your participants into the Experience you can click on the "See how it works and send invites" text to email instructions to your participants.

image of the participants can join this experience blurb from the participants tab

Add as many email addresses as you like (one at a time), separated by commas (they will turn grey when activated). The email will include download instructions, your Experience name and your contact info. They will not include passcodes which will need to be sent out separately. This is an optional step but can be helpful for participants.

image of the send invites pop up


Alternatively, you can use the instructions from the "See how it works and send invites" and invite participants from your own email, or download our instructions if you have a long list of participants to invite.

image of the how to play pop up


If you do not have your participant's contact information, simply share the Join Code (and password if you created one) however you would contact your audience normally.

Getting ready to launch your Experience? Go through our Getting Ready Checklist before pressing Start.

Next: Launching your Experience

Did this answer your question?